Tag: buddhism art prints

Samadhi: Non-Dualistic State of Consciousness in Buddhism

Share this artwork:

Samadhi: Non-Dualistic State of Consciousness in Buddhism

Samadhi in Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism and yogic schools is a higher level of concentrated meditation, or dhyāna. In the yoga tradition, it is the eighth and final limb identified in the Yoga Sūtras of Patañjali.

It has been described as a non-dualistic state of consciousness in which the consciousness of the experiencing subject becomes one with the experienced object, and in which the mind becomes still, one-pointed or concentrated though the person remains conscious. In Buddhism, it can also refer to an abiding in which mind becomes very still but does not merge with the object of attention, and is thus able to observe and gain insight into the changing flow of experience.

In Hinduism, samādhi can also refer to videha mukti or the complete absorption of the individual consciousness in the self at the time of death – usually referred to as mahasamādhi.

Tags : , , , , , , , ,

The Tibetian Wheel of Life

Share this artwork:

The Tibetian Wheel of Life

The Wheel of Life symbolizes the Tibetan Buddhist perspective on life and it contains many themes and symbols of Buddhist teachings.

The creature turns the wheel of life and it holds in its claws is Yama, a wrathful deity and the Lord of Death. Yama symbolizes the inevitability of death, samsara and the impermanence of all things. This does not lead to despair, however, because outside of the wheel is the Buddha, who shows the way to liberation (symbolized by the moon).

The inner circle of the wheel contains symbols of the three root delusions: hatred (snake), ignorance (rooster), and greed (pork).

The ring around the center is the karma, with the numbers on the left to climb to more realms of existence because of virtuous actions, and the numbers on the right descending to the lower realms of existence because of bad deeds or ignorant.

The central ring of the wheel (the areas between the spokes) symbolizes the six realms of existence. The upper half, left to right, represent the three highest spheres of life: humans, gods and demigods. The bottom half shows the three lower realms of existence: animals, hell beings and hungry ghosts.

The outer ring represents the 12 original dependent relationship, as follows:

Right next to the upper part is a blind man with his cane, which is ignorance of the true nature of the world.

Moving clockwise, a potter molding a pot symbolizes that we shape our own destiny with our actions throughout the operation of karma.

Monkey climbing a tree represents consciousness or mind, which wanders aimlessly and out of control.

Consciousness gives rise to name and form, which is symbolized by persons traveling in a boat on the river of life.

The next link is an empty house, doors and windows that symbolize the sense organs in development. Buddha has six senses: sight, smell, taste, hearing, touch and thought.

The six senses allow us to have contact with the world, which is symbolized by lovers embracing.

Contact born of feeling, which we classify as pleasant, unpleasant or neutral. Feelings are represented on the wheel like an arrow piercing the eye.

Feeling born of desire or attachment to pleasant feelings and experiences, symbolized by a couple falling in love or drinking man.

Desire or attachment leads to grasp for an object of desire, symbolized by a monkey picking fruit.

Capture the existence arises, represented by a man and woman making love.

Existence culminates in the birth (entry into the human realm), which is symbolized by a woman in childbirth.

Birth naturally leads to aging and death, which is symbolized by an old man carrying a burden.

Tags : , , , , , , , ,

Vintage Meditating Buddha Premium Canvas Print

Share this artwork:
Vintage Buddha wrappedcanvas
Vintage Buddha by BuddhaGifts
View More Religion Canvas Prints

Meditating Buddha figure sits in the middle of an enlightening rays of light in this vintage style Buddha art perfect for any wall! Fantastic Buddha art gift!

Agra, the city of the Taj Mahal, lies 125 miles south of Delhi, connected to the capital by the special ‘Tourist Express’ which leaves Delhi at 7am and can bring you back by 10pm – regular express trains from Delhi, Madras and Bombay also stop at Agra. These are flights from Delhi, Calcutta, Benares and other cities; air-conditioned buses for day tours are also availableç If you coming from Delhi by road, the first monument of Agra is the tomb of Akbar the Great at Sikandra; the central mausoleum is four-storied affair, of which the top story is in marble and the bottom three in red stone.

The extraordiranily beautiful Taj Mahal, one of the wonders of the world and a masterpiece in marble, was built in 12 years by an army of 20,000. Dominating the city of Agra is the massive Red Fort, the creation of successive emperors. Twent-six miles southwest of Agra is the deserted city of Fatehpur Sikri, once the imperial capital and now a collection of abandoned, but well-preserved mosques, mansions and palaces. In Agra hotels are Clark’s Shiraz and the Grand.

On the banks of the sacred river Ganges, halfway between Delhi and Calcutta, stands Varanasi (Benares), Hinduism’s greatest city where for thousands of years pilgrims have cleansed themselves of their signs on the ghats, the steps leading down to the river. Local craftsmen are world-famous for their silks and brocades. Clark’s Hotel, Mah Road, has single rooms.

The walled ‘pink city’ of Jaipur, the capital of the State of Rajasthan, is encircled by rugged hills, crowned with medieval fortresses. Among the famous buildings are the Hawa Mahal (Palace of the Winds); the City Palace, housing a collection of weapons, rugs, manuscripts and paintings and the Amber Palace, dominating the city. Hotels in Jaipur are the Jai Mahal Palace, Rambagh and State Hotel.

Tags : , , , , , , , ,